The Game Plan

TheStartingEleven is a crossroads of my obsession with poetry and my deep love of football (soccer), a sport that believe holds the potential to bring the world together on so many levels. I also see the enormous potential for metaphor in the beautiful game.

My objective in this blog is to try my best to exploit the poetic possibilities of the sport, from nostalgic personal moments to football’s overlapping with the great events of our complex planet.

The game plan, to begin with, is to play on the eleven player to a side formation by writing in an eleven-line form, with variable rhyme schemes – a kind of flexible eleven-line version of the sonnet, another form that I love using, and which I have adopted for my other poetry blog, sonnetsforpeace.com.

Hope you enjoy the poems and the football references! Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started